Venice Film Festival in 2012 / 2011 / 2010 / 2009 / 2008 / 2007 / 2006 / 2005 / 2004 / 2003 / 2002 / 2001 / 2000

Veneziafilmfestival.COM brings you the essential information and best selection of movies, news and books
from the Mostra del Cinema di Venezia!

Official Awards of the 65th Venice Film Festival (27 August > 6 September 2008)

  Head of the Venezia 65 Jury: Wim Wenders;
Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement: Ermanno Olmi; Glory to the Film-maker award: Agnès Varda and Abbas Kiarostami
Best film: "The Wrestler" by Darren Aronofsky


ERMANNO OLMI (1931) Italian film director, born in Bergamo, Lombardy. Olmi's films use non-actors in authentic locations, so it should be an even more realistic style than neorealism which used professional actors - however, many neorealist directors also used non-professional actors for secondary and sometimes even primary roles. His films, like most of those considered to be products of the neorealist movement, are shot in long, slow takes, and generally contain some sort of social commentary, though rarely do the neorealists wear their political opinions on their sleeves. Perhaps his most important film is The Tree of Wooden Clogs (L'Albero degli zoccoli), which was awarded the Palme d'Or at the 1978 Cannes Film Festival. In 1983 his film Walking, Walking was screened out of competition at Cannes. In 1988, his La leggenda del santo bevitore (The Legend of the Holy Drinker), based on the novel by Joseph Roth and starring Rutger Hauer, won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival as well as a David di Donatello award. Awarded with the Lifetime Achievements Golden Lion in Venice in 2008.


L'Albero degli zoccoli, 1978; Walking, Walking; La leggenda del santo bevitore (The Legend of the Holy Drinker) 1988


2008 Venice Film Festival Films in Competition

VENEZIA 65 - the International competition of feature films, presented as world premieres:
  • The Burning Plain - Il confine della solitudine: Guillermo Arriaga
  • Il papà di Giovanna: Pupi Avati BirdWatchers - La terra degli uomini rossi: Marco Bechis
  • L'autre: Patrick-Mario Bernard, Pierre Trividic
  • The Hurt Locker: Kathryn Bigelow/li>
  • Il seme della discordia: Pappi Corsicato
  • Rachel sta per sposarsi: Jonathan Demme
  • Teza: Haile Gerima
  • Bumazhnyy soldat: Aleksei German Ml.
  • Süt: Semih Kaplanoglu
  • Achille e la tartaruga: Takeshi Kitano
  • Ponyo sulla scogliera: Hayao Miyazaki
  • Vegas: Based on a True Story: Amir Naderi
  • The Sky Crawlers - I cavalieri del cielo: Mamoru Oshii
  • Un giorno perfetto: Ferzan Ozpetek
  • Jerichow: Christian Petzold
  • Inju, la bête dans l'ombre: Barbet Schroeder
  • Nuit de chien: Werner Schroeter
  • Gabbla: Tariq Teguia
  • Dangkou: Nelson Yu Lik-wai

Webdesign and Copyright VeniceDream srl 2000-2020